The trumpet creeper and the hummingbird – Bette Woolsey

This one thin book of poems, ‘The Wildflower’, by Bette Woolsey Castro, has been but so very dear to me since I was a child, and even now, when I flip pages of this book, it  still makes me experience that simple joy I once felt while reading it, for the poems by Bette Castro perfectly capture the simplicity and beauty of life, which is often lost in this fast-paced world.

7861348352_f9a066c751_o

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication” _ Leonardo da Vinci

I watched from my window

As the hummingbird came,

Swift as lightening,

His wings a song in motion.

Dipping into the brilliant blossom,

His slender beak

Took the nectar once again

As man takes the beauty of the flower

To renew the joy of living.

2 thoughts on “The trumpet creeper and the hummingbird – Bette Woolsey

Leave a Reply

