Cascading

“Nothing will unfold for us unless we move toward what
looks to us like nothing: faith is a cascade.”
― Alice Fulton

 

‘Let the music of Love cascade you through this chaotic Life.’ – Mariam Rehman

 

Cascading water,

Awash in fragrance; bursting

Rapid emotions.

 

I’m writing this because, I don’t want you, my dear readers, to not realize that this is a Haiku. Somehow I feel that the piling up of images, one on top of another, goes with the title of my poem, ‘Cascading’.

 

This little piece that I’ve written is free verse, it just happened. 

 

After all,

Everything becomes clear then when,

You realize,

Love is the River 

Flowing behind everything,

That happens

To you.

 

I hope you’ll enjoy reading this 🙂 Thank you for visiting! Do leave comments if you are, in any way able to relate to this piece, I would really appreciate it.

 

Mariam Rehman and mariam03rehman.wordpress.com, year 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariam Rehman and mariam03rehman.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “Cascading

  1. mincs1 says:

    The Haiku is lovely and the following poem it inspired you to write is equally as moving! Kudos 🙂

  2. seanmirza says:

    Beautifully articulated. “Music of love cascading”. Love the expression. Thank you.

  3. Lovely poems and image. I totally relate as you can tell from my Soothing Waters poem. 😄 learning to flow with life, Blessings, Brad

  4. Of course Brad! I liked that poem of yours ALSO because it echoes what I say here 🙂 Thank you for visiting, I’m so happy to have you here!

    Blessings for you too 🙂

  5. dangdangdork says:

    WELL HELLO SPLENDID POET YOU

  6. Rachael Charmley says:

    I love your opening quote. Cascades are beautiful, yet also frightening – we do not ‘know’ them – so the analogy with faith is very apt. The idea of the cascade also implies a letting go, a falling, a being out of control. This I like a lot, and reminds me of the common saying that the only thing to be fearful of, is fear itself. And love, as you say, is what carries us through life, holding us safely.
    Your haiku is visually stunning and tactile. I like your use of ‘rapid’ where the two meanings are interchangeable. A life affirming haiku.
    Your free verse builds on the haiku. Like you have here, I frequently draw on the energy of both the ocean and the river (I am fortunate in living close to both), as metaphors for life’s flow. They are a constant source of inspiration and helps to remind me of both life’s transcience and a sense of eternity – being part of something much larger than most of us can possibly understand.

    A lovely post that must have taken a lot of thought – but surely will give even more back to you in return. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Oh my God Rachael! Such a long post with so many beautiful interpretations!

    Thank you for giving such depth to something I wrote 🙂 I never knew it could be so deep! I really liked this piece because it sounded musical, but yes as you say, it is giving me a lot in return ❤

    Thank you for taking time to comment and even more for sharing your thoughts 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Mariam

Leave a Reply

